The Landmark Project

Speakers and Moderators

Len Abe

Len Abe holds a bachelor’s degree in International Studies and a master’s degree in Political Theory. From 2011 to 2012, he was Director Assistant of the Ruyang County World Bank Project Office, where, among other things, he supported local projects committed to the development of their communities in the China context.
From 2013 to 2014 Len was Executive Director of an NGO, which promotes the rights of migrant workers. Among other things he coordinated conferences for migrant workers to inform them of their rights. Furthermore, he participated in building up a network of migrant workers, which he supports until today.


Manfred Abele

… is head of the central purchasing department of the state capital Stuttgart. In 2005 he was already responsible for IT procurement as team leader. He has been Head of Central Purchasing since 2012. For years, the state capital Stuttgart has pursued the goal of taking greater account of eco-fair and social criteria in procurement. Within the framework of a project co-financed by funds from the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development via Engagement Global with its Service Agency Communities in One World (SKEW), the potentials for an expansion of eco-fair and social procurement are currently being analysed and tested in practice on the basis of selected product groups.


Siegfried Dewaldt

… has been an employee of Hewlett-Packard GmbH / HP Deutschland GmbH for over 35 years. First in procurement  – most recently Commodity Manager for memory chips. Since 2012 additional training as certified EICC Lead Auditor. Afterwards activity as HP/RBA (EICC) Auditor / Lead Auditor, responsible for the European area. After the HP split Sustainability Manager of HP Deutschland GmbH for the German-speaking countries and additionally (as required) as HP/RBA (EICC) Lead Auditor.


Henning Elbe

… is responsible for sustainability and green IT at Dataport. In hardware procurement, Henning Elbe is responsible for developing the ecological and social criteria. Dataport is the full service provider for public administration information technology in Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, Bremen, Saxony-Anhalt, for the IT association of Schleswig-Holstein (ITVSH) and for the tax administration in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania and Lower Saxony. Dataport operates 90,000 IT workstations for its customers.


Sören Enholm

… is the CEO of TCO Development, the organization behind TCO Certified, the sustainability certification for IT products. IT buyers and manufacturers worldwide use TCO Certified to make more sustainable choices. TCO Certified includes a wide range of environmental and social responsibility criteria throughout the product life cycle, including manufacturing, use and end of life phases. Product models and their manufacturing facilities are third party verified for compliance. Sören has been working in the IT industry for more than 20 years, at companies like Sun Microsystems, Apple and Netscape. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science from Uppsala University, Sweden, and is a passionate advocate for IT’s role in a more sustainable world.


Annelie Evermann

… is project manager at WEED – World Economy, Ecology & Development, co-organiser of this year’s conference. Annelie Evermann accompanies legislative projects at state and federal level, is invited as a speaker on sustainable public procurement and IT procurement at specialist events throughout Germany and conducts training courses and consulting for public procurement agencies.


Katja Gnittke

Katja Gnittke is a partner in WMRC Rechtsanwälte Wichert und Partner in Berlin and a specialist in public procurement law. Her clients include municipalities and public companies as well as federal states. She supports her clients in the preparation and execution of award procedures and represents them in review proceedings. Ms. Gnittke advises grant providers and recipients from various funding areas (including climate protection and development cooperation) on public procurement and budgetary requirements.  In publications and lectures Katja Gnittke regularly comments on public procurement law topics and socially responsible procurement.


Ralf Häußler

… works in the Protestant Church of Württemberg in Stuttgart in the field of international and development policy.  He leads the Centre for Development-related Education and is involved in awareness raising on human rights, fair trade, church procurement, global learning and partnership work. One focus is on issues of human rights and the protection of natural resources along the value chains of information and communication technologies as well as in the context of transport and energy transition.


Dr. Eric Heyden

Graduate engineer for environmental protection technology at the University of Stuttgart. After completing his studies, he first obtained his doctorate on the cost-optimized design of industrial waste heat recovery systems before taking responsibility for the state strategy Green IT 2020 at the Ministry of the Environment, Climate and Energy in summer 2015. This aims at a sustainable reduction of the use of energy and resources in the IT of the state administration and includes a multitude of technical and organisational measures.


Marie Holdik

B.A. Study of Religion, M.A. Social and Cultural Anthropology, from 2015 to 2017 multiplicator in the project “FAIR macht Schule!”, which deals with (sustainable) public procurement, since January 2018 research associate at Werkstatt Ökonomie, author of the study “Public procurement of IT hardware in Baden-Württemberg. Status and potentials for the consideration of social criteria” (May 2018).


Dr. Claude Kabemba

Claude Kabemba is the Director of the Southern Africa Resource Watch (SARW). Dr. Kabemba’s main areas of research and advocacy interest include the political economy of Sub Saharan Africa, with focus on democratization, natural resource governance, conflict resolution and foreign policy in Southern and Central Africa. SARW’s work focuses on mining development looking at business and human rights, revenue management, mineral linkages, Corporate Social Responsibility, and mining community mobilization. SARW operates in all SADC countries with a strong presence in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Dr. Kabemba is regularly approached by both local and international media for comments on political and social issues on the continent.


Uwe Kleinert

… is project manager at Werkstatt Ökonomie in Heidelberg. For more than 20 years he has been working on various projects in the field of “Business & Human Rights”, in particular on working conditions in the supply chains of German companies. Since 2013 he has been “One World Promoter” for sustainable public procurement and corporate responsibility. He is also a member of the board of Dachverband Entwicklungspolitik Baden-Württemberg (DEAB) and of the Council for Development Policy of the state government.


Dr. Lars Kühnel

Department Head “User Service” and Deputy Managing Director at the Computer Center of the University of Kiel. Representative of the ITSH-edu procurement and information exchange consortium of universities and research institutions in Schleswig-Holstein, IT procurement consultant for central procurement at the University of Kiel


Jens Lehner

… began his professional career in July 2000 in the purchasing department of the then Informatikzentrum Niedersachsen (IZN; a predecessor organisation of IT.Niedersachsen). During his time at the IZN, he studied law in parallel and entered higher administrative service after completing his legal traineeship. Since November 2013, Lehner has been head of central IT purchasing and the associated legal department at IT.Niedersachsen.


Max Mangold

Max Mangold is a consultant at Deutsche Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH on sustainability standards and public-private responsibility. There he works on social and environmental standards as well as on the involvement of public and private actors in the more sustainable design of global value chains. He is also in charge of GIZ’s web portal ‘Kompass Nachhaltigkeit’ (Sustainability Compass), which supports procurement managers in taking social and environmental aspects into account in public procurement.


Axel Müller

… is coordinator and consultant at FAKT GmbH, a non-profit consulting firm in development cooperation. In his function he deals with the topic of raw material governance, conducts partner consultations and trainings and prepares studies. For many years, Mr. Müller worked as a consultant for civil society organisations in Central Africa, where he dealt with the extraction of raw materials and their socio-economic and ecological consequences in the extraction areas, as well as with transparency initiatives on revenues from the raw materials sector and their use. In the Democratic Republic of Congo he deals with the topic of conflict minerals and small-scale artisanal mining in Eastern Congo.


Dr. Peter Pawlicki

… has been researching the globalisation of the electronics industry and its effects on working conditions and labour rights for almost twenty years. He has been involved in several international research projects on contract manufacturing and is co-author of the publication From Silicon Valley to Shenzhen: Global Production and Work in the IT Industry. He wrote his doctoral thesis on engineering work in global development networks in the chip industry. Before joining Electronics Watch, he coordinated projects financed by the European Social Fund at IG Metall (metalworkers’ union in Germany), among others.


Franziska Singer

… is a trainer, moderator and consultant in the field of sustainable public procurement. She first worked in the European Secretariat of ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability. Since becoming self-employed with Sustainability Training, she has worked for GIZ in Brazil, Germany and Bosnia-Herzegovina, among others. Thematically, her focus – always with reference to public procurement – is on circular economy, effects along the production chain, quality marks and the strategic orientation of purchasing.


Andreas Thamm

… works at the Kiel University (Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, CAU) as head of the procurement department. CAU is the consortium leader in the conclusion of framework agreements in the field of IT hardware for universities and research institutions in the Federal State of Schleswig-Holstein. The institutions involved in the ITSH-edu procurement network see a special responsibility on the part of public-sector clients to adhere to sustainable and socially responsible criteria in procurement. This applies in particular to IT hardware.


Uta Umpfenbach

… is consultant for sustainable public procurement at the Dachverband Entwicklungspolitik Baden-Württemberg (DEAB), co-organizer of this year’s conference. Since 2008, she has been raising awareness and supporting actors, especially in local authorities and civil society, in the introduction of social standards in procurement. So far, the focus of her work has been on IT products, toys, natural stones and flowers/plants.


Ann-Kathrin Voge

Project Manager in the field of Fair Trade and Fair Procurement at the Service Agency Communities in One World (SKEW) of Engagement Global. Her main areas of work are nationwide networking, consulting and training on the implementation of fair procurement in municipalities as well as the web platform Sustainability Compass, which supports public purchasing in the application of social and ecological award criteria, e.g. through quality labels.


Interpreters


Stephanie Hopp

… studied Conference Interpreting at the University of Mainz/Germersheim. She has been working as a freelance interpreter since 2010, covering all kinds of conference topics but especially focusing on health related areas. In 2016 she relocated to Berlin and lives and primarily works there now.


Marc Silvano Schulz

… is a Conference Interpreter for German, English and Italian as well as a sworn interpreter for the courts and notaries in Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany. | Website


Photographer


Uta Rometsch

Advertising and documentation photographer

 

Contact | Imprint

The Landmark Project

Referent*innen und Moderator*innen

Len Abe

Len Abe hat einen Bachelor in Internationale Studien und einen Master in Politischer Theorie. Von 2011 bis 2012 war er stellvertretender Direktor des Ruyang County World Bank Project Office, bei dem er lokale Projekte unterstützte, die sich für die Entwicklung ihrer Gemeinschaften im chinesischen Kontext engagieren. Von 2013 bis 2014 war Len Geschäftsführer einer NGO, die sich für die Rechte von Wanderarbeiter*innen einsetzt. Unter anderem koordinierte er Fortbildungen für Wanderarbeiter*innen, um sie über ihre Rechte aufzuklären. Des Weiteren beteiligte er sich am Aufbau eines Netzwerks von Wanderarbeiter*innen und unterstützt dieses bis heute.


Manfred Abele

… ist Leiter des Zentralen Einkaufs der Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart. Schon 2005 war er für die IT-Beschaffung als Teamleiter verantwortlich. Seit 2012 leitet er den Zentralen Einkauf. Die Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart verfolgt seit Jahren das Ziel, öko-faire und soziale Kriterien bei Beschaffungen stärker zu berücksichtigen. So werden derzeit im Rahmen eines durch Mittel des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung über Engagement Global mit seiner Servicestelle Kommunen in der Einen Welt (SKEW) kofinanzierten Projektes die Potentiale für eine Ausweitung der öko-fairen und sozialen Beschaffung analysiert und anhand von ausgewählten Warengruppen pilothaft in der Praxis erprobt.


Siegfried Dewaldt

… ist seit über 35 Jahren Mitarbeiter der Hewlett-Packard GmbH / HP Deutschland GmbH. Zunächst in der Beschaffung – zuletzt Commodity Manager für Speicher-Chips. Ab 2012 Zusatzausbildung zum zertifizierten EICC Lead Auditor. Danach Tätigkeit als HP/RBA (EICC) Auditor / Lead Auditor, zuständig für den Europäischen Raum. Nach dem HP Split Nachhaltigkeits-Manager der HP Deutschland GmbH für die deutschsprachigen Länder und zusätzlich (nach Bedarf) Tätigkeit als HP/RBA (EICC) Lead Auditor.


Henning Elbe

… ist bei Dataport für das Thema Nachhaltigkeit und Green-IT zuständig. In der Hardwarebeschaffung übernimmt Henning Elbe die Erarbeitung der ökologischen und sozialen Kriterien. Dataport ist der Full Service Provider für Informationstechnik der öffentlichen Verwaltung in Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, Bremen, Sachsen-Anhalt, für den IT-Verbund Schleswig-Holstein (ITVSH) sowie für die Steuerverwaltung in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und Niedersachsen. Dataport betreibt für seine Kunden 90.000 IT-Arbeitsplätze.


Sören Enholm

… ist CEO von TCO Development, der Organisation hinter TCO Certified, der Nachhaltigkeitszertifizierung für IT-Produkte. IT-Einkäufer und -Hersteller weltweit nutzen TCO Certified, um nachhaltigere Entscheidungen zu treffen. Die TCO-Zertifizierung umfasst eine breite Palette von Kriterien der ökologischen und sozialen Verantwortung während des gesamten Produktlebenszyklus, einschließlich Herstellung, Verwendung und End-of-Life-Phasen. Produktmodelle und Produktionsanlagen werden von Dritten auf ihre Konformität überprüft. Sören ist seit mehr als 20 Jahren in der IT-Branche tätig, unter anderem bei Sun Microsystems, Apple und Netscape. Er hat einen Bachelor of Science in Informatik von der Universität Uppsala, Schweden, und ist ein leidenschaftlicher Verfechter der Rolle der IT in einer nachhaltigeren Welt.


Annelie Evermann

… ist Referentin für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte bei WEED – Weltwirtschaft, Ökologie und Entwicklung e.V., Mitveranstalter der diesjährigen Fachkonferenz. Annelie Evermann begleitet Gesetzesvorhaben auf Landes- und Bundesebene, ist bundesweit auf Fachveranstaltungen als Referentin zum Thema nachhaltige öffentliche Beschaffung und zum Schwerpunkt IT-Beschaffung eingeladen und führt Schulungen und Beratungen für Vergabestellen durch.


Katja Gnittke

Rechtsanwältin Katja Gnittke ist Partnerin der Kanzlei WMRC Rechtsanwälte Wichert und Partner in Berlin und Fachanwältin für Vergaberecht. Zu ihren Mandanten zählen Kommunen und öffentliche Gesellschaften sowie Bundesländer. Sie unterstützt ihre Mandanten bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Vergabeverfahren und vertritt diese in Nachprüfungsverfahren. Zu vergabe- und haushaltsrechtlichen Anforderungen berät Rechtsanwältin Gnittke Zuwendungsgeber und -empfänger aus unterschiedlichen Förderbereichen (u.a.  Klimaschutz und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit).  In Veröffentlichungen und Vorträgen nimmt Katja Gnittke regelmäßig zu vergaberechtlichen Themen und zu sozial verantwortlicher Beschaffung Stellung.


Ralf Häußler

… arbeitet in der Evangelischen Landeskirche Württemberg in Stuttgart im Bereich Internationales und Entwicklungspolitik. Er leitet das Zentrum für Entwicklungsbezogene Bildung und engagiert sich in der Inlands- und Bewusstseinsarbeit zu Fragen der Menschenrechte, des Fairen Handels, der Beschaffung in den Kirchen, des Globalen Lernens und der Partnerschaftsarbeit. Ein Schwerpunkt sind Fragen der Menschenrechte und des Schutzes der natürlichen Ressourcen entlang der Wertschöpfungsketten von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien sowie im Kontext von Verkehrs- und Energiewende.


Dr. Eric Heyden

Diplom-Ingenieur für Umweltschutztechnik der Universität Stuttgart. Nach Abschluss des Studiums promovierte er zunächst über die kostenoptimale Auslegung industrieller Abwärmerückgewinnungssysteme, bevor er seit Sommer 2015 die am Ministerium für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft angesiedelte Landesstrategie Green IT 2020 verantwortet. Diese zielt auf eine nachhaltige Reduktion des Energie- und Ressourceneinsatzes in der IT der Landesverwaltung ab und beinhaltet hierzu eine Vielzahl an technischen und organisatorischen Maßnahmen.


Marie Holdik

B.A. Religionswissenschaft, M.A. Ethnologie, von 2015 bis 2017 Multiplikatorin im Projekt „FAIR macht Schule!“, in dem es um (nachhaltige) öffentliche Beschaffung geht, seit Januar 2018 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Werkstatt Ökonomie e.V., Verfasserin der Studie „Öffentliche Beschaffung von IT-Hardware in Baden-Württemberg. Stand und Potenziale für die Berücksichtigung sozialer Kriterien“ (Mai 2018).


Dr. Claude Kabemba

Claude Kabemba ist Direktor von Southern Africa Resource Watch (SARW). Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die politische Ökonomie Subsahara-Afrikas mit den Schwerpunkten Demokratisierung, Governance im Bereich natürlicher Ressourcen, Konfliktlösung und Außenpolitik in Süd- und Zentralafrika. SARW konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung des Bergbaus in den Bereichen Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte, Ertragsmanagement, Unternehmensverantwortung und Mobilisierung von Communities in Bergbauregionen. SARW ist in allen SADC-Ländern tätig, insbesondere in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, Sambia und Simbabwe. Dr. Kabemba wird regelmäßig von lokalen und internationalen Medien um Kommentare zu politischen und sozialen Fragen auf dem Kontinent gebeten.


Uwe Kleinert

… ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Werkstatt Ökonomie in Heidelberg. Er arbeitet seit über 20 Jahren in unterschiedlichen Projekten zum Themenbereich „Wirtschaft & Menschenrechte“, insbesondere zu den Arbeitsbedingungen in den Lieferketten deutscher Unternehmen. Seit 2013 ist er Eine Welt-Fachpromotor für nachhaltige öffentliche Beschaffung und Unternehmensverantwortung. Er ist außerdem Mitglied im Vorstand des Dachverbandes Entwicklungspolitik Baden-Württemberg (DEAB) und im Rat für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit der Landesregierung.


Dr. Lars Kühnel

Abteilungsleiter „Benutzerservice“ und stellv. Geschäftsführung im Rechenzentrum der Universität Kiel. Repräsentant des Beschaffungs- und Informationsaustauschkonsortiums ITSH-edu der Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen in Schleswig-Holstein, IT-Beschaffungsberater der zentralen Beschaffung der Universität Kiel


Jens Lehner

… begann seine berufliche Laufbahn im Juli 2000 im Einkauf des damaligen Informatikzentrum Niedersachsen (IZN; eine Vorgängerorganisation von IT.Niedersachsen). Während seiner Tätigkeit beim IZN studierte er parallel Rechtswissenschaften und trat nach dem juristischen Vorbereitungsdienst in den höheren Verwaltungsdienst ein. Seit November 2013 leitet Lehner den zentralen IT-Einkauf sowie das dazugehörige Justiziariats im Landesbetrieb IT.Niedersachsen.


Max Mangold

Max Mangold ist Berater bei der Deutschen Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH im Vorhaben Nachhaltigkeitsstandards und öffentlich-private Verantwortung. Dort arbeitet er zu den Themen Sozial- und Umweltstandards sowie zur Einbindung öffentlicher und privater Akteure in die nachhaltigere Gestaltung globaler Wertschöpfungsketten. Zudem betreut er von Seiten der GIZ das Webportal ‚Kompass Nachhaltigkeit‘, das Beschaffungsverantwortliche dabei unterstützt, soziale und umweltbezogene Aspekte in der öffentlichen Beschaffung zu berücksichtigen.


Axel Müller

… ist Koordinator und Berater bei FAKT GmbH, eine gemeinnützige Beratungsfirma in der EZ. In seiner Funktion beschäftigt er sich mit dem Themenbereich Rohstoffgovernance, führt Partnerberatungen und Trainings durch und erstellt Studien. Über viele Jahre war Herr Müller als Berater für zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen in Zentralafrika vor Ort tätig, wo er sich mit der Rohstoffförderung und ihren sozioökonomischen und ökologischen Folgen in den Extraktionsgebieten beschäftigte, sowie mit Transparenzinitiativen über die Einnahmen aus dem Rohstoffsektor und deren Verwendung. In der Demokratischen Republik Kongo beschäftigt er sich mit der Thematik der Konfliktmineralien und artisanalen Kleinbergbau im Ostkongo.


Dr. Peter Pawlicki

… forscht seit fast zwanzig Jahren zur Globalisierung der Elektronikindustrie und ihren Auswirkungen auf die Arbeitsbedingungen und Arbeitsrechte. Er war an mehreren internationalen Forschungsprojekten zur Auftragsfertigung beteiligt und ist Ko-Autor der Publikation From Silicon Valley to Shenzhen: Global Production and Work in the IT Industry. Seine Doktorarbeit schrieb er zur Ingenieurarbeit in globalen Entwicklungsnetzwerken der Chipbranche. Vor seiner Tätigkeit für Electronics Watch koordinierte er u.a. vom Europäischen Sozialfonds finanzierte Projekte bei der IG Metall.


Franziska Singer

… ist Trainerin, Moderatorin und Beraterin im Bereich nachhaltige öffentliche Beschaffung. Dabei war sie zunächst im Europasekretariat von ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability tätig. Seitdem sie mit Sustainability Training selbständig ist, hat sie unter anderem für die GIZ in Brasilien, Deutschland und Bosnien-Herzegowina gearbeitet. Thematisch liegt ihr Schwerpunkt, immer mit Bezug zur öffentlichen Beschaffung, auf Kreislaufwirtschaft, Auswirkungen entlang der Produktionskette, Gütezeichen und strategischer Ausrichtung des Einkaufs.


Andreas Thamm

… ist an der Christian-Albrechts-Universität (CAU) zu Kiel als Leiter des Referats Beschaffung tätig. Die CAU zu Kiel ist Konsortialführer beim Abschluss von Rahmenverträgen im Bereich IT-Hardware für Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen des Bundeslandes Schleswig-Holstein. Die beteiligten Einrichtungen des Beschaffungsverbundes ITSH-edu sehen eine besondere Verantwortung bei öffentlichen Auftraggebern, bei der Beschaffung auch nachhaltige und sozialverträgliche Kriterien einzuhalten. Das gilt insbesondere für IT-Hardware.


Uta Umpfenbach

… ist Referentin für Nachhaltige Öffentliche Beschaffung beim Dachverband Entwicklungspolitik Baden-Württemberg (DEAB), Mitveranstalter der diesjährigen Fachkonferenz. Seit 2008 sensibilisiert und unterstützt sie Akteur*innen v.a. in Kommunen und Zivilgesellschaft bei der Einführung von Sozialstandards in der Beschaffung. Im Mittelpunkt der Arbeit stehen bisher IT-Geräte, Spielzeug, Natursteine sowie Blumen/Pflanzen.


Ann-Kathrin Voge

Projektleiterin im Themenfeld Fairer Handel und Faire Beschaffung bei der Servicestelle Kommunen in der Einen Welt (SKEW) von Engagement Global. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind bundesweite Vernetzung, Beratung und Schulung zur Umsetzung von Fairer Beschaffung in Kommunen sowie die Webplattform Kompass Nachhaltigkeit, die den öffentlichen Einkauf bei der Anwendung sozialer und ökologischer Vergabekriterien z.B. durch Gütezeichen unterstützt.


Dolmetscher*innen


Stephanie Hopp

… studierte Dolmetschen an der Universität Mainz/Germersheim. Seit 2010 arbeitet sie als freiberufliche Dolmetscherin für Englisch in unterschiedlichen Bereichen – mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Medizin. 2016 hat sie Ihren Wohn- und Berufssitz nach Berlin verlegt.


Marc Silvano Schulz

… ist Konferenzdolmetscher für Deutsch, Englisch und Italienisch sowie allgemein beeidigter Dolmetscher für gerichtliche und notarielle Angelegenheiten in Rheinland-Pfalz. | Link


Fotografin


Uta Rometsch

Werbe- und Dokumentationsfotografin

 

Kontakt | Impressum